January 2015 Newsletter

Chairman’s Message

Chairman’s Message –January 2015

Derrick Bauer (Supervising Engineer within the Materials Engineering department at the Elliott Group-Jeannette, Pa. was our November speaker. His presentation on Slick, Innovative Surface Modifications to Reduce Fouling and Corrosion in Rotating Equipment for the Oil and Gas Industry – Current and Future Technologies was very well done and received by both societies.

Our meeting was held at Robert Morris University on November 20th. There were 14 ASNT attendees. Many thanks to ASM for hosting the Joint meeting between the 2 societies.

This month Brett Pond, PhD, PE will be presenting a Failure Analysis tour at the TUV plant in Hopewell Twp.  Please see the bio and directions in this newsletter.

Our calendar/directory is in the process of being mailed within the next few days. If in the next few weeks you haven’t received your calendar please let us know. They will be mailed to the address you have on file with ASNT headquarters.

Coming in February will be a joint meeting with AWS. They have not informed us as to the subject or the meeting site at this time. Watch for the February newsletter or check our website for the latest information. Please plan to join us soon.

Bob Saunders

Chairman Pittsburgh Section 2014-2015

 

News

Brett Pond, PhD, PE
Principal Metallurgist

bpond@us.tuv.com
July 2006 – Present
TUV Rheinland Industrial Solutions, Inc.
Brett directs the TRIS metallurgical lab and manages projects that involve finite element modeling, machine design, failure analysis, and materials testing, characterization, and selection. He specializes in failure analysis and prevention, as well as component and material testing, characterization, and selection.

EDUCATION:
D.Sc. Mechanical Engineering
Washington University in St. Louis

M.S. Mechanical Engineering
Washington University in St. Louis

B.S. Mechanical Engineering
Washington University in St. Louis

If you plan to attend the meeting, please RSVP as soon as possible to Gary Young at gyoung@elwd.com or 724-752-0055 ext 3194.

 

2014 – 2015 Meeting Schedule

Month Day Venue Presentation
September 18 Pittsburgh Pirates Game PNC Park – Pirates vs Red Sox ***
October  16 Frank H. Mayer, PE Bridge Inspection

Bocktown Beer and Grill

November  20 Derrick Bauer

Joint meeting with ASM

Slick, Innovative surface Modifications to reduce fouling and corrosion in rotating equipment for the oil and gas Industry
January 15 Bob Nichol TUV – Tour

TUV Plant, Moon Twp, PA

February 19 Joint meeting with AWS TBD

TBD (to be determined)

March 19 Paul Ellis Centura Xray

TBD (to be determined)

April 16 TBD TBD
May 21 Annual Training Seminar TBD

TBD (to be determined)

June 11 Annual Clay Target Shoot Sporting Clays

Castlewood Rod & Gun Club

*** For reservations:  contact the social chairman, Gary Young, at 724-752-0055 ext 3194 or email gyoung@elwd.com.

 

ASNT PGH SECTION 2013 – 2014

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Chairman:         Bob Saunders      rsaunders@elwd.com

Chairman:         John Markanich   jmarkanich@perrymanco.com

Treasurer          Gregg Morgan      gmorgan07@comcast.com

Secretary:         Robert Stiger      rstiger@hrvinspectors.com

Past Chairman:    George Maksin     mjmaksin@comcast.net 

Director:           James Bennett    007jeb@gmail.com

Director:           Mark Aubele       maubele@sae.org

 

COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN

Social:              Gary Young         gyoung@elwd.com

Program:           Bob Nichol         bnichol@ndtg.net

Membership:       Keith Purnell       kpurnell@sae.org

Directory:        George Maksin    mjmaksin@comcast.net

Financial Auditor: Hartley Johnston  mrj4asnt@aol.com

 

« Previous Entries